The Old Man & The Sea

Here’s another nautical themed post – so drop on the deck and flop like a fish!

I read The Old Man & The Sea recently. I’ll admit, I didn’t have high hopes – I’ve watched my grandpa fish a bunch of times and it’s not particularly exciting.

Also while I was reading it I had a hunch that it was going to have a depressing ending, so I kept trying to guess what it would be. For a while I was convinced that one or more of these things would happen to the unlucky fisherman, called Santiago

  1. That he hadn’t hooked a fish but rather the back of another boat and that’s why his boat was moving.
  2. That Santiago would die cause he’s old
  3. The marlin he’s trying to reel in would eat him

But what I did like about this short story is the pure love and respect Santiago has for both the ocean and the giant marlin he must kill.

Also the friendship between the fisherman and the young boy, Manolin, who he taught to fish, is beautiful. I would love for someone to look at me with ‘ sunburnt, confident loving eyes’.

Anyway, here’s some pictures from my new zine Not all Mermaids are Attractive! Thank you Hannah Potter for drawing me these gorgeous torso illustrations, they are everything I was hoping for.

 

